Student Counseling Center

 
 
 

Contact Us/Get Help

Reach out to the Student Counseling Center for assistance.

 In Case of an Emergency

  • On-campus: Call the Office of Public Safety and Transportation by dialing extension 5 on any campus phone.
  • Off-campus: Call the Office of Public Safety and Transportation at 516.877.3511.
  • Call 911.

 crisis Services

Long Island Crisis Center 24/7
p – 516.679.1111
Crisis intervention, counseling, information, referral and other supportive services. Now providing online and mobile chat counseling for suicide prevention.

GLBT National Help Center
p – 1.888.843.4564

National Suicide Prevention Lifeline
p – 1.800.273.TALK (8255)

Mental Health Association of Nassau County
p – 516. 504.HELP (4357)

Lifenet (New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene)
p – 1.888.NYC.WELL / (692.9355)

 Sexual, Partnership and Domestic Violence Support

The Safe Center
p – 516.542.0404

RAINN
p – 1.800.656.4673

LI Against Domestic Violence
p – 631.666.8833

Safe Horizon Services
p – 1.800.621.4673

The Retreat, Inc.
p – 631.329.2200

Victims Information Bureau of Suffolk (VIBS)
p – 631.360.3606

 Email

scc@adelphi.edu

 Phone

516.877.3646

 Fax

516.877.3139

Office Location

Student Counseling Center
Ruth S. Harley University Center, Room 310
1 South Avenue
P.O. Box
Garden City, NY 11530

 Hours of Operation

You can schedule an appointment during the following hours:

Regular Semester Hours

Monday–Thursday: 8:30 a.m.–7:00 p.m.
Friday:  8:30 a.m.–4:30 p.m.

Summer Hours

Monday–Friday: 8:30 a.m.–4:30 p.m.

 Meet Our Staff

Carol A. LucasCarol A. Lucas, Ph.D., LCSW
Director, Counseling and Support Services
p – 516.877.3154
e – clucas@adelphi.edu

Josh AltmanJosh Altman, Ph.D., LCSW
Associate Director
p – 516.877.3646
e – jaltman@adelphi.edu

Kate SapadinKate Sapadin, Ph.D.
Clinical Supervisor
p – 516.877.3666 
e – ksapadin@adelphi.edu 

Kathleen BroerKathleen Broer
Office Manager

p – 516.877.3646
e – kbroer@adelphi.edu  

Laura DownsLaura Downs, M.D.
Psychiatrist
p – 516.877.3646
f – 516.877.3139
e – ldowns@adelphi.edu 

Nancy AlbertNancy Albert, LMSW
Counselor
p – 516.877.3646
e – albert@adelphi.edu

Sandra BruschiSandra Bruschi, LMSW
Counselor
p – 516.877.3646
e – sbruschi@adelphi.edu 

Gwendolyn ButlerGwendolyn Butler, LCSW
Counselor
p – 516.877.6221
e – gbutler@adelphi.edu

Elizabeth-CavanaughElizabeth Cavanaugh, MS.Ed., LMSW
Triage Coordinator/Counselor
p – 516.877.3646
e – ecavanaugh@adelphi.edu

Jeffrey L. ChiltonJeffrey L. Chilton, Ed.D., M.A., LMHC
Counselor
p – 516.877.3667
e – jchilton@adelphi.edu 

Ellen EdelmanEllen Edelman, LCSW
Counselor
p – 516.877.3646
e – edelman2@adelphi.edu 

Beth HollanderBeth Hollander, Ph.D.
Counselor
p – 516.877.3646
e – bhollander@adelphi.edu

Jessica S. MillerJessica S. Miller, LCSW
Counselor
p – 516.877.3646
e – jesmiller@adelphi.edu 

Greta S. TiberiaGreta S. Tiberia, LMSW
Coordinator of Substance Abuse Counseling
p – 516.877.3646
e – gtiberia@adelphi.edu

Jonathan JacksonJonathan Jackson, Ph.D.
Consulting Supervisor, Student Counseling Center
Director, Center for Psychological Services
p – 516.877.4823
e – jackson2@adelphi.edu

 
Find Us on Campus
View the interactive Garden City campus map to find the Student Counseling Center.
Find your way to us
Alcohol and Drugs
Provides resources, prevention, intervention and education.
Click here to find out more
Health Services
Feel free to ask the staff about any health concerns you have.
Click here to find out more
 
 
Apply Now
Request Information